Petersen Strikes Again

Had it not been for Nils Petersen scoring that goal this post probably would have gone a very different way. It most likely would have ended up being some kind of rant about other people and eye contact and just what the big deal is with all that. But I’m not ranting today, not about this and not about any of the other things which have made me angry lately. Because I’m not allowing them to get to me, I don’t want to ruin the good mood I’m currently in and so I’m not. I can’t remember where I read it or who they were quoting but there was something I read online the other day which fits perfectly. From what I can remember it was about if the recipient of a gift doesn’t want it then who does it belong to. And if someone else is angry then their anger is an unwanted gift. You don’t have to accept it. So I’m not. There’s plenty reason to be angry, encountering such ignorance about autism and disability in general is infuriating, all the more so when it comes from professionals. But as infuriating as such ignorance is it’s not surprising which is a depressing thought in itself, that it’s like you don’t expect anything better from such people.

When I get upset or angry about something I’m generally not very good at letting go, at setting it aside and getting on with the rest of the day. I have however managed to do that not just today but for the past several days. I haven’t miraculously gotten better at it. I’m not sure what the reason is just yet. There’s two possible contenders, both of them are connected but somehow the opposite of each other. The first possible reason is what I’ve termed my “Anger book.” It’s something new I’m trying out. I read about it a while ago in a book about autism. The point is that if something’s bothering you then you write it down and then it’s done, it’s finished. So you get to rant but you’re not allowed to obsess over it. The other reason is at the beginning of the week there was no-one to rant to. I wonder if rather than getting it all out maybe ranting just gets me more worked up. Maybe writing it down is the better option, a calmer way of doing so.

I don’t know what the answer is and right now I’m not trying to work it out. Today’s prompt is a very timely one, not only will I be feasting my eyes upon the first round of the DFB Pokal this weekend but also the final at the Olympics between Germany and Brazil. The match that’s the re-match of the historic 7-1 semi-final two summers ago. I never thought I’d get to see Nils Petersen in a German shirt, that by itself was a gift. But getting to see him score the goal that confirmed Germany’s appearance in that final, well that’s something else all together. Knowing that he did so as a Freiburg player, that at the least he will be going back to Freiburg with an Olympic silver medal. Tonight’s events are Petersen themed too because Bayern are drawn with Carl Zeiss Jena, so two former teams of his going head to head. Freiburg on the other hand will be taking another trip to Berlin on Saturday, which I have to admit is extremely ironic in light of recent events. They play SV Babelsberg, interesting connection there and some random trivia. Babelsberg is of course home to the famous film studio and my favourite film of all time Inglorious Basterds was filmed there.

Life’s not perfect, far from it but there’s plenty of things to be happy about. And for once I don’t have to look too hard to see them. I can’t fix everything and I don’t have any of the answers I’m looking for right now. Just now that doesn’t matter, I’ve got matches to watch, stories to write, stickers to collect and books to read. The season’s close to starting again and all the pieces are falling back into place. And with additions like these to my collection I’ve got little to complain about:

Nils Petersen goal – Deutschland v Nigeria (Olympics 2016)

Nils Petersen - Deutschland v Nigeria (Olympics 2016) 1 Nils Petersen - Deutschland v Nigeria (Olympics 2016) 2 Nils Petersen - Deutschland v Nigeria (Olympics 2016) 3 Nils Petersen - Deutschland v Nigeria (Olympics 2016) 4 Nils Petersen - Deutschland v Nigeria (Olympics 2016) 5 Nils Petersen - Deutschland v Nigeria (Olympics 2016) 6 Nils Petersen - Deutschland v Nigeria (Olympics 2016) 7 Nils Petersen - Deutschland v Nigeria (Olympics 2016) 8 Nils Petersen - Deutschland v Nigeria (Olympics 2016) 9SC Freiburg club profile (Joachim Löw)

Joachim Löw – SC Freiburg club profile 1 Joachim Löw – SC Freiburg club profile 2 Joachim Löw – SC Freiburg club profile 3 Joachim Löw – SC Freiburg club profile 4 Joachim Löw – SC Freiburg club profile 5 Joachim Löw – SC Freiburg club profile 6 Joachim Löw – SC Freiburg club profile 7

Leave a Reply

