Happy Promotion Day

To say last night’s events were something of acurve-ball would be somewhat inaccurate because the past two days have been nothing but one giant curve-ball, the fact that it was an expected one didn’t make it any easier. I did manage to get some sleep early Friday morning and I got to see Civil War again, but that doesn’t matter right now. All that matters is I managed to stay awake long enough to see Freiburg’s game, long enough to see them win 2-1 and to be promoted back to the Bundesliga, hence the title. With two matches to spare they’ve confirmed their return to the Bundesliga. There is however one Captain America related fact I have to mention. Today on die Konferenz they had a very amusing video of a Wolfsburg player done up as Captain America, in place of a ball to kick he had Iron Man’s head in his hand, which he promptly smashed into the goal. I am so making a GIF of that when it’s finished recording.

Last night also saw another surprise, an actual one this time since I knew promotion being confirmed was possible. This one is Hansi related and very strange indeed. I never watch the simulcast for 2.Bundesliga games, I don’t want any distractions from Freiburg’s game. But yesterday I made an exception, if something important happened in Leipzig I wanted to know about it right away. As it turns out something important did happen, Bielefeld’s equaliser. I can’t believe I was right about that, I never though they’d actually hold them to a draw. But before that was Hansi, he was at the game and if I hadn’t had the simulcast on my second screen I never would have known, let alone get pictures and video. He doesn’t l look especially happy to be there but then neither am I. The way I see it he’s on enemy territory, as pleased as I am to get another video of him I wish he hadn’t been there. It’s going to require some creative thinking to write that in:

Hansi Flick at RB Leipzig v Arminia Bielefeld 2015-16 1Last night had everything, a Petersen goal, an angry Christian Streich providing perfect GIF material once more and plenty of drama. And not just in Freiburg’s game either, Paderborn losing was bad enough for them. But misery was heaped upon them with both Duisburg and 1860 winning, pushing them down into 18th place. That’s harsh, 2015 they finished in 18th place in the Bundesliga and now in 2016 they face the same fate in the 2.Bundesliga, they don’t deserve that. I am happy Freiburg won but at the same time I can’t help feel a little sorry that Freiburg had to score the goals which might consign Paderborn to the third division. The goals that confirmed Freiburg’s return:

Mike_Frantz_goal_SC_Paderborn_v_SC_FreiburgNils_Petersen_goal_SC_Paderborn_v_SC_FreiburgWith promotion secured I find myself wondering about what to do with last season’s shirt, the so called relegation shirt. After the game against H96 in 2015 I hung it up, left it there for a while and then eventually put it away. Promising that I’d only take it out it when they were back in the top flight. Well now they are and H96’s fate is confirmed, Freiburg won’t have to play them next season. Yet I still haven’t taken it out yet. I think I may hold off on that, waiting until the final day of the Bundesliga season. On that day H96 play Bayern, I think I’ll wear it then. Today I had no difficult decisions to make as to what shirt to wear, my mind was made up for me with the arrival of my new Jogi t-shirt:

20160430_122636To finish I have to include some pictures and GIFs from last night, the first two are my favourites, Patric Klandt looks so sweet the way he’s holding on to Vincenzo Grifo:

Patric Klant & Vincenzo Grifo - SC Padeborn v SC Freiburg 1 Patric Klant & Vincenzo Grifo - SC Padeborn v SC Freiburg 2 SC Freiburg celebrate promotion 29-04-16 1 Nils Petersen - SC Paderborn v SC Freiburg SC Freiburg celebrate promotion 29-04-16 2SC_Freiburg_celebrate_promotion_29_04_2016 Angry_Christian_Streich_SC_Paderborn_v_SC_Freiburg

One response to “Happy Promotion Day

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 29 – “Surrendering Memories” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

