The Apparition: Sebastian Stan Pictures

Tonight I watched my first non Marvel Sebastian Stan film. I borrowed it from someone who’s a huge fan of him and they assured me it was scary so I was excited about getting to see it. I don’t watch many horror films because I don’t scare that easily so I don’t see the point. Other than getting a lot of cute Sebastian pictures this film was a disappointment in pretty much every way. Sebastian was ok, I don’t want to criticize not just because I like him but because he didn’t have a lot to work with. It was a pretty weak script, it’s not so much that I can’t find anything good to say about it but that I can’t really find anything to say about it. It was just kind of meh, for lack of a better word. I could see the moments where it was meant to be creepy but I wasn’t feeling it, I didn’t jump or get scared at any point during the film. And I didn’t cheat, I watched late at night with all the lights switched off but still no reaction.

It wasn’t scary and not interesting either. The story is when Sebastian’s character Ben was in college he and some fellow students attempted to conjure up a spirit of some kind. It went wrong and now that spirit is haunting them both. Tom Felton who’s best known as playing Draco Malfoy in the Harry Potter films plays his friend Patrick. So strange things start to happen, furniture moving, doors being left open and plants dying until things start to get steadily worse. Long story short his girlfriend Kelly finds the video of the experiment and she asks him to leave because he didn’t tell her about it.

They end up in a hotel where the spirit tries to kill her, because it’s not the house that’s haunted but them. Ben and Patrick try to send the spirit back where it came from but it didn’t work. Patrick gets taken by it and so does Ben when he and Kelly go to Patrick’s safe room. They get in the room and then he disappears. I have to admit that was kind of a neat trick. You think they’ve got to the safe room, so they’re safe. After all it’s where Patrick’s been hiding these past two years. I wonder if that means the spirit could have taken him anytime he wanted, if he was just toying with him. Because that is the worst thing such a spirit can inflict upon people, that kind of mental torture where they don’t what to trust or what’s going to happen next, the never knowing of if you’re safe. So I guess there is one good thing about the film other than how cute Sebastian Stan looked. Kelly gets taken by it too, though it’s not at all clear where she is. They didn’t show what became of Ben and Patrick. He mentioned purgatory, I wonder if that empty mall was her version of that. She hides in a tent but it gets her anyway. I don’t know what the point of that was. If maybe by putting the tent there it was providing her with the illusion she was going to get away. Toying with by making her feel safe and then scaring her to death. Or if it was meant to be symbolic of her denial of the situation. I don’t really care what happened to any of them, the film didn’t do a great job of making you care for any of them. If I didn’t like Sebastian Stan I wouldn’t have cared what happened to him.

Anyhow, to the good stuff. I figured since I put up pictures of Jogi from every match I watch why not do the same for Sebastian Stan and his films as I see them:

Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 1 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 2 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 3 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 4 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 5 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 6 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 7 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 8 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 9 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 10 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 11 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 12 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 13 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 14 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 15 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 16 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 17 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 18 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 19 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 20 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 21 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 22 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 23 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition 24 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition interview 1 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition interview 2 Sebastian Stan - The Apparition interview 3

 

Leave a Reply

