To Berlin and Back

Live to Eat

Some people eat to live, while others live to eat. What about you? How far would you travel for the best meal of your life?

My current favourite food is currywurst and it comes as the title suggests directly from Berlin. Thanks to the internet I don’t actually have to trek all the way to Berlin to get it. But it’s good enough that it would be worth the trip. I’m sure there’s plenty of other things worth seeing in Berlin, the football stadium and the Stasi Museum to name two. But all I care about is the food, getting to eat authentic currywurst. Whilst reading the history of it on Wikipedia I discovered a most interesting fact and a place to add to my list of places to visit in Berlin. There is a museum in the city devoted to the history of currywurst, incredible.

To get back to the point there is nowhere I wouldn’t go to get good currywurst, it is that good. I love it so much it’s not even tainted by the events of Friday evening. I had one serving left of my latest shipment which I was saving for the return of the 2.Bundesliga, more specifically Freiburg’s game against Bochum. Usually if I eat something whilst they play and they lose I don’t eat it anymore on match-days, I’m not following that rule here. I plan on ordering more as soon as possible and breaking the curse. And if everything goes right then hopefully on the 15th May I’ll be eating currywurst and celebrating Freiburg’s return to the top flight. Here’s my favourite part of this whole scenario, Freiburg finish their season away to 1.FC Union Berlin. Which I was unhappy about at first, but I’m not now.

Another snack I would have gone to the end of the world for were these wonderful chocolate biscuits from Hannover. But I stopped eating them after what happened on the final day of the season last year. If H96 continue their slide downwards and Freiburg’s promotion is secured on the final day I’ll be sure to have some of those to go with my currywurst. I don’t particularly believe in enjoying someone else’s misery but this is different. I just hope it all goes to plan, and by that I mean Freiburg getting promoted. As long as that happens I couldn’t care less what happens to H96. I admit it would be kind of sweet, them getting relegated as Freiburg get promoted. But I wouldn’t waste a wish on it or anything. I just hope Freiburg don’t fall apart on the final stretch. Not getting promoted isn’t he worst scenario in mind, the worst picture I have in my head is of them not getting promoted and of H96 still getting relegated. The indignity of it, having to play them in the Budesliga again would be painful enough but having to face them in the second tier would be a nightmare.

Leave a Reply

