The Eighth Sin

The Eighth Sin

Remember the seven cardinal sins? You’re given the serious task of adding a new one to the list — another trait or behavior you find particularly unacceptable, for whatever reason. What’s sin #8 for you? Why?

I know what the eighth deadly sin for Quentin Tarantino is, having made an eighth film. He ended Inglourious Basterds with the words “You know I think this might be my masterpiece” and he was right. He followed up that film with Django Unchained which is also excellent, not in the same league as Inglourious Basterds but still terrific. And then came The Hateful Eight. A film which proves just because you can do something does not mean you should.

As for what I think the eighth sin should be. Well I’m not sure whether it’s impreciseness or dishonesty I’m railing against. What I’m angry about is people who say they are going to do something and then don’t do it. But in regards to the situation in question I don’t know why they didn’t stick to their word. If it’s a question of them saying they would do it but having no intention of doing so. Or if it’s one of those things where people don’t really say what they mean. Like when people say they’ll e-mail you later, apparently it’s not a commitment to do so. They’re just expressing the idea that at some point they’ll get in touch with you.  Many times people say things but don’t really mean them, they don’t think about what they are saying. It’s easy for them to forget that I fail to remember people don’t always say exactly what they mean. But I’m not sure the fault is only with me. I think the world would be a better place if people were more honest and said what they meant. I’ve listened to people who don’t even like each other pretend to be nice to each other and then afterwards had to listen to one of them complain about having to do so. I told them they shouldn’t waste time pretending and they told me that’s not an option. I don’t see why not, beyond showing basic manners to other people, why waste time in pretending to like someone you don’t? Why waste time saying things you have no intention of actually doing?

I think I’ve crossed over into rant territory now so I’ll refrain from writing anymore in the subject. Instead I’ll just add the line I wrote for Hansi which sums up how I feel about the matter: “I forget sometimes, how seriously you take things; words aren’t just words to you. I should be more careful to only use words like that when I really do need you to promise me something.”

On a more lighthearted note there is one other thing that’s a serious contender for the eighth deadly sin, football commentators who ruin the results for other games. More specifically games which the channel in question is showing a repeat of later. What’s the point in showing it if you’re just going to tell us the score a whole three hours before it airs? Luckily this time I’d already seen the game in question, but that’s not the point. I’ll never forgive them for ruining the result of Freiburg’s game with Gladbach. It’s a year and  a half later but I still can’t let it go.

Leave a Reply

