Just Another Jogi Day

Just Another Day

Our days our organized around numerous small actions we repeat over and over. What’s your favorite daily ritual?

My day has a lot of rituals, I am by nature a very ritualistic person. It might be hard to pick a favourite, I think if I had to choose it would be getting and opening the day’s mail. It’s not just the contents of the mail which are so exciting to me, there’s plenty of fun to be had before you even consider the contents. First is the stamps which I collect, German ones are obviously my favourites and the country most of my collection are from. Sometimes they are quite amusing. Like the one I got yesterday, it’s from Freiberg. Not the south-western Freiburg, but Freiberg in the east German state of Saxony. But it’s still funny because Saxony shares a border with Saxony Anhalt, in that state you’ll find a town named Wernigerode which is home to Freiburg striker Nils Petersen. Even funnier is the contents of the envelope, a newspaper dating back to 1997 from Stuttgart. The picture beneath is from that paper:

Freiberg stamp Joachim Löw - VfB Stuttgart - DFB Pokal clippingThis is what I got in today’s post:

Joachim Löw – signed Mercedes Benz card 1 Joachim Löw – signed Mercedes Benz card 2Writing this post was interrupted by another ritual of mine, though it’s not a daily one, if I did this everyday there would never be time for anything else. And this time there was at least a reason for it. I wasn’t just whiling away the hours whilst searching for new Jogi pictures. This time I’m trying to solve a mystery, I have this picture of Michael Zorc along with someone who looks a lot like Jogi, but I’m not sure if it’s him or not. I just can’t work it out. So I spent most of the afternoon hunting down old pictures of Jogi from his playing days. I didn’t get many and none of the ones I did get helped solve the mystery. But I did get some cute ones at least. Anyhow, here’s the picture in question:

Michael Zorc clippingI don’t have many black and white pictures of Jogi, here’s one I do have for comparison:

Joachim Löw – VfB Stuttgart signed photo

Leave a Reply

