Take Care

Take Care

When you’re unwell, do you allow others to take care of you, or do you prefer to soldier on alone? What does it take for you to ask for help?

To get straight to the point, I would have to be laid up in bed completely unable to do anything before I asked someone for help or let someone take care of me. I spent enough time letting other people help me the rest of the time, I’m not at all predisposed to letting them do so when I’m sick. I don’t like people fussing over me and making a big deal out of things. Mostly I just like to be left alone and to just get on with things as best I can. Even if I wanted help I’d probably be unable to ask for it anyway so it doesn’t really make much difference. Whether it’s a physical issue or otherwise I prefer to take care of it myself.

Though when it comes to other things I wish sometimes I could let other people help. But then I’m not sure they could. I don’t see what good talking about it is going to do. It’s not going to change anything, not how I feel and not what’s going on. People say share your feelings and what’s on your mind, it’ll make you feel better. Does that ever work for anyone? It sounds so simplistic. Plus I can’t help but think if I tell them what’s on my mind then they’ll worry even more. They mean well I know that, it just gets tiring, having them ask if I’m fine all the time. Sometimes it’s just easier to avoid being around other people altogether, then you don’t have to pretend to be fine.

As it happens today is a duvet day, not because I’m sick but because I’m tired. It’s been a long week and it’s not over yet. Truth is I could probably fall asleep right now without even trying, but the second game hasn’t even started yet and there is no way I’m not watching the very last game of the Hinrunde live. Not to mention seeing the highlights of today’s 2.B games later. What’s bugging me the most is not that I’m so tired but the weather. Up until today the weather has been miserable, just the way I like it. Then all of a sudden it’s warm (well for winter anyway), not just here but in Freiburg and Berlin too. The latter I’m especially disappointed about, last year they played the last but one Sunday game too and in a very snowy encounter they lost to Hoffenheim 5-0. I don’t like warm weather at any time but being so warm a week before Christmas, that’s just plain weird.

The pain I’m in mostly self inflicted and is all football related. Getting up at 6:00am to see Dortmund’s game was crazy and yet I did it anyway. I can’t think of any other Sunday when I’ve been up so early without having stayed up all night. I would say that I’d pay the price tomorrow but I’m paying it already.

Though not all of it is self inflicted, a part of it comes from the fact that not only is Hertha playing today but they are leading Mainz 1-0, courtesy of a Vladimir Darida goal. Painful because this time last year Darida was a Freiburg player and a much missed one. I like all of the new players but when you see him score goals like the one he did today it all comes back. Though such feelings were helped by Freiburg beating 1860 3-0 today. And on the subject of helping people Nils Petersen got to do that today in a very important way, he didn’t get on the score sheet today but he did help young Jonas Föhrenbach to do so. And if anyone needed a goal it was him. I’m sure it will help with his confidence after what happened last week against 1.FCN. He played a part in conceding the first goal and scored an own goal to give 1.FCN their second. So I’m very happy he had a good game today. Another excellent Grifo GIF also played it’s part in making me feel better, him and Marc-Oliver Kempf dancing together:

Grifo_Kempf_dance_SC_Freiburg_v_1860Jonas Föhrenbach goal – SC Freiburg v 1860 München

Jonas Föhrenbach – SC Freiburg v 1860 München 1 Jonas Föhrenbach – SC Freiburg v 1860 München 2 Jonas Föhrenbach – SC Freiburg v 1860 München 3

Leave a Reply

