Friday the 13th

This is obviously not how I expected the night to be ending. Instead of making the Jogi highlights I’m up watching the news and trying to make sense of what’s going on. I had no idea anything had happened until the game ended. I don’t exactly make a habit of going online whilst a game is on, not a live one anyway. It didn’t occur to me that there was anything amiss about the explosion heard in the 16th minute of the game. Firecrackers and flares and that sort of thing are common occurrences at football matches so I didn’t think anything of it.

It’s a terrifying situation to be in, there really are no words. Anything you say it just doesn’t seem to be enough. One thing I can say is the some of the responses both online and from certain news outlets are extremely disappointing. And that’s putting it mildly, though whilst they are disappointing it is not at all surprising. It’s just completely illogical, first of all to start pointing fingers at anyone when everything is still so murky. But secondly to immediately start accusing the refugees of being responsible. Do they not understand, those are the people fleeing the kinds of people who did this.

Such a thing happening should result in people having some kind of empathy with them, shouldn’t it? After all people in Syria and other war torn countries have to deal with these kinds of things every day, seeing the horror of such things happen in your own country or in neighboring countries should make people realise that they can’t ignore such a crisis any longer.

There’s a lot of different things being said, a lot of conflicting statements about many aspects of what happened. I’m not sure if this is correct but I heard on the news that Paris is under curfew and that such a thing has not taken place since 1944, in other words when there were Nazis on French soil. Whether it’s true or not it’s worth thinking about. The fact that there hasn’t been a loss of life like this on French soil since then. Europe didn’t do enough back then and they aren’t doing enough now. They can’t ignore what’s going on just because it’s happening far away, ignoring it and the part they’ve played in the situation is no longer an option.

I didn’t mean to write that much, in fact I didn’t know what I meant to write at all. I just felt like I had to write something. I couldn’t sleep anyway, not without knowing what’s going on but all the more so since about two hours ago some idiot let off some fireworks. There’s no reason for me personally to be afraid, nothing ever happens here, it’s a sleepy little place, nothing really happens. Didn’t stop that from scaring the living daylights out of me however.

I’ll be uploading the Jogi highlights and pictures from the game maybe later today or tomorrow. It doesn’t seem appropriate to do so now. Though for obvious reasons I won’t be uploading the full match as planned, it doesn’t feel right to do that.

I know I should say something, like I’m thinking of all the people affected right now or something along those lines, but such things always sound stupid when I say or write them so I’ll refrain from doing so. Besides it’s obvious I’m thinking of them and what’s happened, I wouldn’t have written this otherwise or still be awake at almost 5:00am.

Leave a Reply

