DFB Pokal Last 16 Draw 2015/16

This evening the draw for the last 16 of the DFB Pokal took place and despite Freiburg being knocked out in the previous round I was still very excited for it. Not least to see if I would get my Borussia (x2) and my Bayern related wish. I’m happy to say I did, that none of them have been drawn with the other. In fact I’m very pleased with who Borussia Dortmund have been drawn with because they’ve been drawn with the team who knocked Freiburg out. Which means former Freiburgers Matze and Roman can get a revenge of sorts on their behalf.

Gladbach face Bremen and Bayern face Darmstadt which is most unfortunate for the latter. 1860 vs Bochum should be a most interesting encounter given that 1860 have been so terrible in the league. Fascinating how they can knock out two Bundesliga teams but are struggling to get out of the relegation zone in the league. Also interesting, at least to me is the final tie, VfB Stuttgart vs Eintracht Braunschweig. It’s of interest to me because they both knocked out the two teams other than Freiburg that I was rooting for in the previous round. Stuttgart knocked out Carl Zeiss Jena and Braunschweig knocked out SSV Reutlingen. I don’t want to root for either of them but seeing as Braunschweig are direct competitors of Freiburg at the moment and they came back from 2 down to draw 2-2 with them today, I guess I’m rooting for Stuttgart. Though I suppose I have to root for them anyway because they are Jogi’s last team in the competition.

The results of the draw and the video of it:

DFB Pokal Last 16 draw - 2015-16

Leave a Reply

