Brainwave

Brainwave

What’s the best idea you’ve ever had? Regale us with every detail of the idea — the idea itself, where it came to you, and the problem it solved.

There’s three ideas in contention, the first is having a blog at all, the second is the decision to make the Löw highlights from all of Germany’s games and the third is the creation of the Löw adventures.

The first however was not really my idea. I would never have come up with the idea of having a blog by myself. So I can’t take any of the credit for that. The second is an idea entirely of my own creation and is a very important one. But it’s not the most important of all, though it is connected. For without those videos,  without seeing how terrific Jogi and Hansi are together I might never have come up with so many stories about them.

I can’t share every detail of the idea because I don’t really know. I know when and where. It was a daily prompt in fact that kicked the whole thing off. A daily prompt titled “Trio no. 4” which told you that you could write about anything you wanted. As long as it included a speeding car, a phone call and a crisp, bright morning.

Seemingly from nowhere I started thinking about Jogi and Hansi, about how amusing I found it about him getting banned from driving for speeding. That led to thinking about him driving over to Hansi to confess his love for him. The idea felt like it came out of nowhere, but that’s not entirely true. Just a few days before that prompt appeared I had a conversation with someone about how great they are together. So the idea was there, it was just a case of the right circumstances. Of the right ones occurring to allow the idea to grow. And here’s the result, the first ever chapter of the Löw adventures.

As for what problems it solved, it’s created as many as it solved. But I don’t mind, if you’re going to be obsessed with something and have it take up all your time then this is as good a thing as any. It’s solved a few problems I didn’t even know existed. It’s given me the chance to express feelings I didn’t even knew I had. I had no idea I had any interest in such things, who would have thought it, that romance in any way would appeal to me.

More importantly it’s given me the opportunity to make sense of a lot of things. As my friend pointed out to me last week, writing about a relationship, seeing it from both their perspectives must help with empathy and the problems I have surrounding such things. They’re right, it does help. It’s odd in that I end up writing things more from Hansi’s perspective than Jogi’s. I would have thought it would be the other way around, Jogi after all is the strange one. But thinking about it, it makes sense. I learn more seeing things from Hansi’s perspective, considering how Jogi’s quirks for lack of a better word affect him and how he deals with it all. It’s funny, the person in question last night sent me a link about Sherlock fan-fiction, and a lot of the themes explored are ones I’ve covered myself. Particularly freaky was a chapter which involves Watson discovering Sherlock stimming, freaky because I’ve written something which involves that exact scenario. The article certainly made for fascinating reading. And has potentially given me an idea for future projects, Spock and Kirk.

I must have learned something from it anyway because last week when we were discussing the idea of taking a trip, they commented that they’d be getting dragged to a lot of places they have no interest in, like the football museum in Dortmund and all the stadiums I want to visit. But I said that I’d be willing to compromise a little, that as long as they aren’t planning on dragging me to any art galleries then I can compromise. The look on their face indicated they thought I was kidding, as if they were waiting for the punchline. But no, there wasn’t one, I was serious. Sometimes you have to do things you don’t really want to do, when you care about someone you have to do that. If nothing else Hansi has taught me that.

2 responses to “Brainwave

  1. I was always a sort of fan of Jogi Löw, just the name warrents being a fan. He just looks so different from the other football managers, but that is just from a female point of view in Switzerland.

    • You’re not wrong about his name, it’s perfect. I get what you mean about him looking different from other managers, I’ve heard people in real life say the same thing. He is indeed very different, so much so that I’ve gotten people who have no interest in football liking him and Hansi. There’s just something so wonderfully strange about him. Christian Streich is plenty strange too but in a very different way, he’s more of a mad professor type. Whereas when it comes to Jogi he is indefinable, there is no category to put him in, he’s just Jogi.

Leave a Reply

