Auf Wiedersehen Roman

Usually knowing that something is going to happen makes it a little easier to deal with, having some preparation for it makes the event in question easier when it does occur. Not so here, all the preparation in the world could not have helped here. I knew Roman was going to be leaving, knew that it was just a question of when and where. His likely destination was Dortmund and that is indeed where he has ended up, €4.5 million was what they paid for him. And it’s not a question of one Roman for another either, Weidenfeller is apparently set on seeing out his contract at Dortmund which runs until 2016.

Not that it would have made much difference but I wish I hadn’t found out in the way I did. I found out during Sami Khedira’s charity match on Sunday afternoon, right from the devil himself, that is from new Dortmund coach Thomas Tuchel when he was being interviewed on the touchline and he called Bürki his dream goalkeeper.

Like I said, it wouldn’t have made much difference how I found out but it did matter when. Firstly, I would have liked to have had the rest of the weekend to enjoy and secondly I would have preferred to have found out when I didn’t have to spend the next hour or so in the virtual presence of the other Roman and the coach who just helped himself to my favourite player.

I originally meant to write about this on Sunday night, when the game had finished but after recording the game, making the videos and screen-capping it I was too tired to do anything else. I’m glad it turned out that way because a lot of what I wrote then was feeling sorry for myself rambling which didn’t really make a whole lot of sense. Since finding out two days have passed, other things have happened and more importantly I got some sleep. I think that helped the most, catching up on some much needed sleep and having two very lazy sick days like I promised myself I would have.

2. Bundesliga count-down – 37 days to go.

Earlier this morning I got to see his very first Bundesliga game, MD1: Eintracht Frankfurt v SC Freiburg. I was worried I wouldn’t be able to watch it, that it would make me feel miserable all over again. For whatever reason, it didn’t have that effect. Despite that I know not to be lulled into a false sense of security by this seemingly calm acceptance of the situation. A similar thing happened at the end of the season too, a very emotional reaction when it actually happened and then nothing, not upset and not angry, just nothing. Until something reminded me of it, whether it be a certain sticker, a video or some random collectible. Getting new pictures of Hansi earlier certainly cheered me up,and I’m still pretty happy about having not only seen the match on Sunday but having those pictures and the video of Jogi I was able to make. Plus tonight is the beginning of the U21 European Championship so there’s enough to keep me distracted for a little while. Germany play Serbia tonight, Denmark on Saturday and the Czech Republic on the following Tuesday.

Roman Bürki - Eintracht Frankfurt v SC Freiburg - MD1 1 Roman Bürki - Eintracht Frankfurt v SC Freiburg - MD1 2 Roman Bürki - Eintracht Frankfurt v SC Freiburg - MD1 4 (2) Roman Bürki - Eintracht Frankfurt v SC Freiburg - MD1 4 (1)On the subject of goalkeepers, Roman is not the only one on the move. Sven Ulreich is leaving VfB Stuttgart for Bayern, he’s set to replace Pepe Reina as their second choice keeper. Kind of a strange choice, it’s not like he’s going to get a lot of playing time when he’s second choice to the best keeper in the world.

It’s not only because of Roman that I’m glad I didn’t get to write this post on Sunday. Not only am I little less emotional at that news but I’m less angry about the other things that were on my mind and that can only be a good thing, I’m no less confused about any of it but it’s a start. Not just that but I’m no longer feeling quite so sorry for myself and complaining about why everything has to go wrong. I guess I’ve gotten some perspective on the whole thing. I still plan to write about some of those things, they are still on my mind but I’m going to do so when I can make a little more sense of them. I don’t want to be writing about such depressing things right now, I just want to enjoy tonight’s game. On a related note, I wondered to myself the other day whether or not I could go a whole week without watching at least one match, I thought I could do it. How wrong I was, it’s Wednesday and by the time the day is over I’ll have seen four matches.

There was a daily prompt the other day asking if you are satisfied with the way you deal with a crisis. I didn’t write anything for it, I was going to but changed my mind. The reason being that usually what I think is a crisis isn’t, it’s my overreaction that makes it seem like a crisis. I get worried over things that most people wouldn’t even give a second thought to and I always think the worst of situations, I really need to stop doing that, to not be so negative all the time. If I’m going to allow myself to talk to other people then I need to accept that sometimes things will go wrong, there will be misunderstandings. There’s always going to be plenty of them when you’re speaking in a language you’re not fluent in. But it’s not the end of the world and you can’t act like it is every time something goes wrong. There are enough real problems to deal with, you don’t need to go looking for anymore trouble and creating problems where there are none.

On the subject of overreacting to things, there’s a most curious subject on my mind right now related to such things and that is the media and online reaction to something Jogi did during Saturday’s game. During the game he tore a nail and he rectified the problem with a nail file and some people seem to think he was being disrespectful by having done so, I don’t know why or how. Because he was doing that instead of watching the match? I don’t know, I really don’t. I really don’t see what the big deal was. As for being disrespectful, he’s been nothing but respectful towards their opponents in the group, Gibraltar in particular who lets face it are a joke as far as football is concerned. They shouldn’t even be allowed to play, but that’s not relevant here. What is relevant is that he’s never laughed them off as opponents, he’s taken them seriously and didn’t talk about them in a dismissive manner when answering questions about them at the press conference. He should get a little credit just for keeping a straight face when he was asked about the strengths and weaknesses of the Gibraltar side.

Leave a Reply

